Active procrastination

This is a good article about active procrastination. This dated article just provides an introduction but in recent years there been some good books written about this topic.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15959999

Much to the relief of those who like to mop up the syllabus just before the semester exams/quiz, pay their bills on the last day or delay a decision to the 11th hour these studies lend support. I move between from being a non procrastinator to an active procrastinator to being a passive procrastinator. When I am actively procrastinating or basically ‘sitting on something’ it may that it is low or high priority on my list but not urgent or that I am waiting for some more information to do the task or take the decision, information or questions which I am not explicitly aware about that is if you ask me what exactly I am looking to find out more I may not be able to say but a hunch tells me to wait for more information or that simply it is not the right time and no need exists to rush. However a busy lifestyle, low levels of overall alertness, not knowing what a person wants or stress can make a person from an active to a passive procrastinator on certain tasks.

Leave a Reply

